Week 7 Reflection – Project Implementation/Evaluation

Monday 17th March

I learnt something new with regards to InDesign settings today and it is something that I will find very useful for the rest of the time I spend using the software.

I have had this issue before but I have only just today thought to see if there is a way to change it to make it easier on myself.

When you have the file open that you are working on, if you zoom out, the software applies what is called ‘Greek’ to the text in the document. This means that when you zoom out it changes the text from being visible as text and instead appears to be grey bars. I find that this makes it difficult to get a proper view of how your document looks as you are not seeing it as it would actually appear.

On previous documents I had worked on they had been A3 size and I had always been able to view the document full screen with no problems, however the document I am working on for the Guardian article is the size of the Berliner newspapers format which is bigger than A3 so I was being faced with these grey bars when trying to view the document in full screen.

I googled what this was called and one of the questions posted on Yahoo asked how to turn it off so I looked at this. I had to go into Preferences > Display Performance and saw that the Greek text was set to appear at anything appearing smaller than 7pt font. I turned this all the way down to 1pt so that it would only appear if I zoomed quite far out on the document.

Here is a screenshot of a comparison between looking at the document with and without the grey bars:

Greek Text Comparison

Greek Text Comparison

This is very useful as I can now see the text clearly whilst making alterations to the document layout and it is something that will benefit me as long as I am using InDesign. My only regret is not finding out how to do this sooner!

REFERENCE:

Today I was having a look at the library online for academic journals that might have some useful statistics about Cyber bullying

Bonanno, R, & Hymel, S n.d., ‘Cyber Bullying and Internalizing Difficulties: Above and Beyond the Impact of Traditional Forms of Bullying’, Journal Of Youth And Adolescence, 42, 5, pp. 685-697, Social Sciences Citation Index, EBSCOhost, viewed 17 March 2014.

“Most notably, perpetrators of cyber bullying enjoy a degree of anonymity and invisibility that is not always possible with more traditional or face-to-face forms of bullying, and which also can make them less aware of the impact of their behavior on victims”.

Margaret Anne, C n.d., ‘Protecting Oneself from Cyber Bullying on Social Media Sites – a Study of Undergraduate Students’, Procedia – Social And Behavioral Sciences, 93, 3rd World Conference on Learning,Teaching and Educational Leadership, pp. 1229-1235, ScienceDirect, EBSCOhost, viewed 17 March 2014. ( http://ac.els-cdn.com/S1877042813034654/1-s2.0-S1877042813034654-main.pdf?_tid=b7a6185c-adbd-11e3-ae62-00000aab0f27&acdnat=1395051789_82ce20b867eb09fbb97882508d15d02c)

Tuesday 18th March

I took a bit of a risk today and printed off the questionnaires that I plan to hand out to the teaching staff on the assumption that everything would be fine with my Ethics forms and they would be passed soon. This was just so that I would already have the documents printed and could get them sent out as soon as posssible. Each questionnaire is three pages long and I am planning to send out 10 and given that I don’t have the fastest printer in the world, 30 pages could take quite a bit of time to print out.

As it turns out it only took around 15 minutes to print out all the questionnaires however, if I receive the email in the morning telling me my forms have been cleared to go ahead with and I then needed to spend a further 15 minutes printing them out, then that could be the difference between being able to give them to my dad to hand out around his school on the day or missing him and having to wait yet another day before handing them out.

I am expecting that my ethics forms will be cleared by tomorrow morning if there is no problems with them as it will have been a week since I submitted them and that was how long it took to clear them the first time round.

Saturday 22nd March

I am now still waiting for my Ethics forms and Questionnaires etc to be passed by Mark Dixon at the University. I am unaware of the circumstances as to why it is taking longer than the previous one did so I have decided to email Alison today but the chances are that she won’t get the email until first thing on Monday morning. This isn’t so much a problem but I really hope that she sees it early so that the problem can be resolved ASAP.

EDIT: I have sent Alison an email just asking if she knows anything about the situation and if not would it be possible for her to email Mark to check on the situation.

I have also emailed ahead to the people over at BeatBullying.org to see if there would be a chance of talking to any victims of bullying through their site, which is set up for people who are victims of bullying to talk to each other so I wondered if it would be possible for me to speak to any of them. Obviously I don’t want to go storming into a site and just start questioning people and risk getting banned or a bad reputation with those people so I am making sure to ask the relevant authorities in advance!

Leave a Reply

